tourism service charter

WHO ARE WE?

Department of Tourism is an organ of the South African Government. The department, according to its strategic plan, envisages the promotion of South Africa as a major tourism destination, with unique features, in order to boost tourism numbers and enable tourism to contribute to sustainable economic growth and poverty reduction.

OURVISION

A catalyst for tourism growth and development in South Africa.

OUR MISSION

A strategy focused department, committed to create a conducive environment for growing and developing tourism through:

- Innovation;
- Strategic partnerships and collaboration;
- Providing information and knowledge management service; and
- Strengthening institutional capacity.





YOUR RIGHTS

You have the right to all the Pele Batho principles, especially the following:



tourism

Department: Tourism **REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA**

OFFICIAL WORKING HOURS

7:30 - 16:00 Lunch: 12:30 – 13:30

KEY SERVICES RENDERED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF TOURISM

• Provision for policy and strategic direction for domestic tourism growth and stakeholder management.

 Creation of job opportunities through the Social Responsibility Programme which is essentially an EPW programme of the Department.

Access to departmental website.

· Call centre and information resource centre.

• Enterprise development.

Tourism information gateways.

Courteous behaviour at all times.

• Full information.

• Prompt and efficient service.

• Redress and an apology for lapses in our services.

YOUR OBLIGATIONS

We count on a strong partnership with you to realise the promises in the Charter. We also count on you to be courteous towards our staff and treat them with respect.

COMPLAINTS & COMPLIMENTS

Website: www.tourism.gov.za E-mail address: callcentre@tourism.gov.za Facsimile: +27 (0) 12 444 7000 Call Centre : +27 (0) 860 121 929 Switch Board Number : +27 (0) 12 444 6000 Complaints and suggestion boxes at all service points /offices

EXECUTIVE AUTHORITY OF THIS DEPARTMENT

Ambassador LM Makhubela Director-General: National Department of Tourism

Mr. Martinus van Schalkwyk, MP Minister of Tourism

